Matri Shree Media Award

A recognisation for the excellence in indian journalism
For the Journalists, By the Journalists

1st Media Award for the Excellence in Indian Journalism (Established : 1975) 

The Matri Shree Media Award is a series of awards for outstanding performance in different areas of journalism and related fields, being awarded in New Delhi, India.

MSMA was established during the days of Emergency (India) in 1975.

Since then the award has been awarded annually to about twenty five number of outstanding candidates from reporting, desk editing, cartooning, photography etc. from print as well as from electronic media ... from later years, Indian film makers were also been considered for MSMA.

44th MSMA: Best feature film Badhaai Ho

Award distribution function will be held on June16, 2019

Announcement of 44th MSMA:

Best feature film BADHAI HO

Journalists from print and electronic media will be presented 44th Matri Shree Media Awards which is being presented for the last 43 years. Announcement in this regard was made today. Announcing the awards the Convener of Award Committee & Chief Editor Matriswar Shri Dinesh Sharma said that this time Aayushman Khurana starrer film Badhai Ho has been adjudged the best film. In addition 29 journalists from Print & Electronic Media and one social activist and a feature film have been adjudged for the presentation of Bharat Mata Shield.     

The journalists, whose names were selected, are Senior Journalist Sarvottam G Mahatha Jaipuriyar from PTI, Senior Journalist Namita from Bhasha and Agraj Pratap Singh from UNI, Jitender Kumar from Univarta, Poonam Gaur from Navbharat Times, Ravi Bhushan Dwivedi from Sandhya Times and Kunal Kashyap from Punjab Kesari, Sandeep Ashwario Chief Cartoonist from Times of India. Officers of the Selection Committee S/Shri Ashok Aggarwal, Harish Chopra, Ramesh Bajaj, Vishal Rana, Chetan Sharma, Kailash Agrawal, Satender Tripathi, Surender Pandit and Parvinder Sharda including 150 readers have agreed to the name of former Mayor Shri Adesh Gupta in the social service category. Shri Dinesh Sharma told that this time Sajjan Chaudhary from Dainik Hindustan, Photo Journalist Durga Pasad Mishra from PTI, Correspondent Rajiv Kumar Ranjan and Cameraman Rahul Singh from ANI agency, Senior Journalist Sanjeev Gupta and Photographer Paras from Dainik Jagran, Senior Reporter Dheeraj Bainiwal from Amar Ujala, Vinod Mani Gautam from Hari Bhoomi, Minhaj Ahmad from Hamara Samaj (Urdu) were also considered eligible. The Selection Committee also agreed on the names of Video Journalist Dilip Awathi from India News, Soorvir Singh from Total TV, Photo Editor Shailender Pandey from Rajasthan Patrika, Prem Singh from MH One TV, Ranjit Singh from Aajtak TV, Arvind Kumar Sharma from Dharm Website, Senior Journalist Vishnu Sharma from India News and Shailesh Giri for Best Film PRO. In addition the selection committee approved the names of Vijay Kumar Togah from J&K and Gulistan News, Film Critic Vijay Kumar Shandhya Mahalaxmi Bhagyauday, Praveen Arshi from Shagufta TV Times Hindi Varta and S S Dogra from Total Khabrein. The award “Lekhni” in a simple function organized at Abhishek Cine Complex, Chandni Chowk on 16th June, 2019 will be presented by Union Minister Dr. Harsh Vardhan to the selected journalists. Senior MP Shri Ramesh Bidhuri has agreed to preside over the function. This award was started in the emergency period in view of the fighting spirit of the Journalists.

Shri Sharma told that this award was started 43 years ago and first of all the Martyr Journalist Lala Jagat Narayan was presented the Bharat Mata Shield by Senior Political Leader of Delhi Prof. Vijay Kumar Malhotra. Our objective is – ‘Lekhani jo satta ki dasi nahi rahi – sarkari inamon ki bhi pyasi nahi rahi – ye swabhiman apna jagati hi rahegi aur naqab gaddaron ke uthati hi rahegi.’ Badhai Ho will also be exhibited in the function.

Venue of 44th MSMA

Abhishek Cineplex
Chandni Chowk
New Delhi 110006


Dinesh Sharma
91 9818596982

Date & Time

Sunday: 10:00am - 11:30am


Abhishek Cineplex